HomeFrançaisSite MapContact


Franciscan Spirituality

Prayer for Peace

The Canticle of All Creatures

Pray of Total Offering

Prayer before the Crucifix

Prayer Inspired by the Our Father

Becoming a Franciscan Minor or Contemplation in Service


Franciscan Spirituality

Within the Catholic Church there is a rich variety of spiritualities. We speak, for instance, of “Benedictine spirituality”, “Dominican spirituality”, or “Franciscan spirituality” - to name a few.

These spiritualities have their origin in great spiritual leaders after whom they are generally named; for example, Benedictine spirituality is from St. Benedict and so on. A particular spirituality is a specific system, or schema of beliefs, virtues, ideals and principles which form a particular way to approach God and therefore all life in general.

Just because these spiritualities are different does not mean they are contradictory. They all arise from the same Christian heritage and they all aim at the same goal – to love as Jesus loved. The difference is a matter of emphasis. These differences in emphasis give each spirituality its unique character traits. In other words, each spirituality has its “preferred” virtues, ideals and principles without negating all the others. These preferred emphases are what make up each particular spiritual system. Franciscan spirituality, then, is that spirituality which comes from St. Francis and evolved within the Franciscan order. It has its own unique emphasis which characterizes it as “Franciscan”.

A general schema for Franciscan spirituality would look like this:

1. Franciscan spirituality is rooted in the general Judeo-Christian, Roman Catholic and Biblical traditions. It is rooted in the general Trinitarian theology of the Church.

2. It is Christo-centric focusing primarily on the Incarnate Jesus.

3. The humility and poverty of the Incarnation of Jesus is the pattern and model for Franciscan life (Imitation of Christ), theology (Primacy of Christ) and its approach to all creation.

4. This downward direction, movement, tendency is called Minority.

5. Minority is expressed in Poverty and Humility. Poverty is the external expression of Minority while Humility is the internal expression of it.

6. Along with Minority, Fraternity is essential to Franciscan life. Minority safeguards and effects Fraternity.

7. The third pillar of Franciscan life is Penance. Penance is on-going, continuous conversion.

8. The fruit of all this is the perfection of love with an particular Franciscan emphasis on peace and joy.

The following sections are a short summary of these main emphases.




Last modification : September 23, 2006